dot dot dot
Monmouth College
Public Relations

prospective students  ::  current students  ::  alumni

dot dot dot
  HOMEPAGE  
  CURRENT STUDENT RESOURCES  
 

PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS

 
  FACULTY  
  INTERNSHIPS  
  STUDENT AND ALUMNI PORTFOLIOS  
  FIELD TRIPS AND GUEST SPEAKERS  
  SCHOLARSHIPS  
  WMCR / MCTV  
  COMMUNITY PUBLIC RELATIONS TOOLBOX  
  HISTORY OF PROGRAM  
  INDEPENDENT STUDY  
  ALUMNI  
  FORENSICS/DEBATE  
  HONORS  
  CONTACT US  
  MC HOMEPAGE  
 

Monmouth College Public Relations Program

The Monmouth College Public Relations Program has a continued commitment to program evaluation, in keeping with the "E" in RACE public relations program cycles.  Please take less than three minutes to complete the online survey, see link below.  The results are reported anonymously back to the program coordinator.

We are also is in the process of developing an alumni webpage, and would love to know what people are doing. The information posted on this webpage will inform students interested in pursuing a public relations major of possible career choices. It will also educate them on how to best utilize all that Monmouth College and the Public Relations Program offer to students. In addition, it may serve as a networking device for upperclassmen. The webpage would also provide a great opportunity for you to see what fellow CATA alumni have been involved with and perhaps provide a means for you to reconnect with them.  The information from the included questionnaire will be posted on the alumni website.  You name, as an alumnus will be included, only if you include it in the last question. 

By filling out this questionnaire you will be significantly assisting Monmouth College, current, and future public relations students. Your participation is greatly appreciated by the Monmouth College Public Relations Program. 

Click here to fill out Student and Alumni Survey

Public Relations Job Search Strategy

The field of public relations is competitive and successful job seeks must demonstrate their communication abilities in the process of applying for an securing a job.  Use this link to access the sixteen step strategy recommended by the Public Relations Society of America.  Job Search Campaign Strategies

Public Relations Job Search Worksheet

Use the following link to access the worksheet, recommended by the Public Relations Society of America to assist professional in public relations to find the right position.  Job Search Worksheet.

 

 

Monmouth College Public Relations Program News
New Web Site for PR Program

The Monmouth College Public Relations Program has a new web site and is working out the bugs (and typos) during March, April and May 2008.  If you see an error, have an idea or want a correction made, contact the Public Relations Program Webmaster, Jim O'Brien at jobrien@monm.edu with your idea or correction.

April 15, 2008 is the Deadline for Public Relations Internship Applications for Credit during Summer and Fall 2008.

To earn credit for an internship, you traditionally need to be of junior and good standing, have secured a specific public relations internship post where you will do professional public relations work, and then complete and submit the application.  Once approved, interns are allowed to register for academic credit.   In general, to earn 3 s.h. of credit, a student needs 120-150 hours of professional level internship work.

Alumni News

Heather Prater, '07, has taken a position working in public relations for a media personality in the Chicago are and is managing media relations for a record label.

Ellen Ehrenhart, '07, who finished her degree and public relations internship in event planning is currently working in Springfield and preparing for her big break in theater.

Brooke Morgan, '07, who graduated in December of 2007 is now working on her masters degree in communication at Illinois State University.

PR Graduating Seniors of May 2008

Congratulations to the graduating seniors of the public relations program of Monmouth  College for 2008!  (With honorable mention to those graduating in December 2007.)

Well educated and ready to work -- the Public Relations Program extends an early congratulations and a keep up the hard work until graduation to the graduating seniors of the public relations program.  Anyone knowing of great job leads is encouraged to share the info with the graduating seniors who are actively looking for their dream job!

Abrams, David  (dabrams@monm.edu)

Babos, Jenny (jbabos@monm.edu)

Boyd-Ross, Lucinda Boyd (lboyd-ro@monmn.edu )

December 2007!

Burrill, Caleb (cburrill@monm.edu)

Dollins, Jessica (jdollins@monm.edu)

Gumm, Tyler (tgumm@monm.edu)

Heiar, Scott (sheiar@monm.edu)

Johnathan Henkins (jhenkins@monm.edu )

Herrera, Brenda (bherrerra@monm.edu

Hoffer, Erik (ehoffer@monm.edu )

Jones, Mickenzie (mljones@monm.edu)

Kammerer, Erik (ekammerer@monm.edu)

Lakis, Mark (mlakis@monm.edu)

Lawrence, Ashley (alawrence@monm.edu )

Lents, Mindy (mlents@monm.edu )

Lief, "Chuck" Charles (clief@monm.edu )

Koritz, Brittany (bkoritz@monm.edu )

McCombs, Rebekah (rmccombs@monm.edu)

Morgan, Brooke (bmorgan@monm.edu )

December 2007!

Phillips, Allyson (aphillips@monm.edu)

Prater, Heather (hprater@monm.edu)

December 2007!

Ratliff, Traci (tratliff@monm.edu )

Santell, Stephen (ssantell@monm.edu )

Scott, Carissa (cjscott@monm.edu)

Springsteen, Jill (Jspringsteen@monm.edu)

Steskal, Pamela (psteskal@monm.edu)

Tangney, Cassie (ctangney@monm.edu)

Trueblood, Ashley (atrueblood@monm.edu)

Tweed, Ashleigh (atweed@monm.edu)

 

         
Monmouth College Public Relations Program
700 East Broadway, Monmouth Illinois 61462 :: Copyright