dot dot dot
Monmouth College
Public Relations

prospective students  ::  current students  ::  alumni

dot dot dot
  HOMEPAGE  
  CURRENT STUDENT RESOURCES  
 

PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS

 
  FACULTY  
  INTERNSHIPS  
  STUDENT AND ALUMNI PORTFOLIOS  
  FIELD TRIPS AND GUEST SPEAKERS  
  SCHOLARSHIPS  
  WMCR / MCTV  
  COMMUNITY PUBLIC RELATIONS TOOLBOX  
  HISTORY OF PROGRAM  
  INDEPENDENT STUDY  
  ALUMNI  
  FORENSICS/DEBATE  
  HONORS  
  CONTACT US  
  MC HOMEPAGE  
 

Forensics and Debate - ScotSpeak!

Effective public speaking is a critically important professional skill for public relations professionals.  To help hone those skills, the Public Relations Program assists in sponsoring the intercollegiate and on-campus activities of Monmouth College speech and debate.

ScotSpeak!, a student-led campus organization, sponsors Monmouth College intercollegiate and on-campus speech and debate activities.  President for the 2007-2008 year is Pamela Steskal (psteskal@monm.edu), a public relations and communication major. Captain of the speech team is Jason Magafas.  The captains of debate are Benjamin Sauer (bsauer@monm.edu) and Alex Roling (aroling@monm.edu).

You may also visit the Official ScotSpeak! website.

ScotSpeak! is supported financially by the Student Senate of Monmouth College, by the volunteer coaching and forensic Direction of Associate Professor Benita Dilley, and is affiliated with the Department of Communication and Theater at Monmouth College.ScotSpeak! each years seeks formal funding support from the Department of Communication and Theater and the annual budget of the College, but has yet to secure operating funding through those means.

For information on the type of events the speech team competes in, feel free to visit this link to the events as formally described and governed by the American Forensics Association.  Click here for those event descriptions.

If you would like to know about the history of intercollegiate speech and debate and ScotSpeak! at Monmouth College, visit the history page here.

 

 

Monmouth College Public Relations Program News
New Web Site for PR Program

The Monmouth College Public Relations Program has a new web site and is working out the bugs (and typos) during March, April and May 2008.  If you see an error, have an idea or want a correction made, contact the Public Relations Program Webmaster, Jim O'Brien at jobrien@monm.edu with your idea or correction.

April 15, 2008 is the Deadline for Public Relations Internship Applications for Credit during Summer and Fall 2008.

To earn credit for an internship, you traditionally need to be of junior and good standing, have secured a specific public relations internship post where you will do professional public relations work, and then complete and submit the application.  Once approved, interns are allowed to register for academic credit.   In general, to earn 3 s.h. of credit, a student needs 120-150 hours of professional level internship work.

Alumni News

Heather Prater, '07, has taken a position working in public relations for a media personality in the Chicago are and is managing media relations for a record label.

Ellen Ehrenhart, '07, who finished her degree and public relations internship in event planning is currently working in Springfield and preparing for her big break in theater.

Brooke Morgan, '07, who graduated in December of 2007 is now working on her masters degree in communication at Illinois State University.

PR Graduating Seniors of May 2008

Congratulations to the graduating seniors of the public relations program of Monmouth  College for 2008!  (With honorable mention to those graduating in December 2007.)

Well educated and ready to work -- the Public Relations Program extends an early congratulations and a keep up the hard work until graduation to the graduating seniors of the public relations program.  Anyone knowing of great job leads is encouraged to share the info with the graduating seniors who are actively looking for their dream job!

Abrams, David  (dabrams@monm.edu)

Babos, Jenny (jbabos@monm.edu)

Boyd-Ross, Lucinda Boyd (lboyd-ro@monmn.edu )

December 2007!

Burrill, Caleb (cburrill@monm.edu)

Dollins, Jessica (jdollins@monm.edu)

Gumm, Tyler (tgumm@monm.edu)

Heiar, Scott (sheiar@monm.edu)

Johnathan Henkins (jhenkins@monm.edu )

Herrera, Brenda (bherrerra@monm.edu

Hoffer, Erik (ehoffer@monm.edu )

Jones, Mickenzie (mljones@monm.edu)

Kammerer, Erik (ekammerer@monm.edu)

Lakis, Mark (mlakis@monm.edu)

Lawrence, Ashley (alawrence@monm.edu )

Lents, Mindy (mlents@monm.edu )

Lief, "Chuck" Charles (clief@monm.edu )

Koritz, Brittany (bkoritz@monm.edu )

McCombs, Rebekah (rmccombs@monm.edu)

Morgan, Brooke (bmorgan@monm.edu )

December 2007!

Phillips, Allyson (aphillips@monm.edu)

Prater, Heather (hprater@monm.edu)

December 2007!

Ratliff, Traci (tratliff@monm.edu )

Santell, Stephen (ssantell@monm.edu )

Scott, Carissa (cjscott@monm.edu)

Springsteen, Jill (Jspringsteen@monm.edu)

Steskal, Pamela (psteskal@monm.edu)

Tangney, Cassie (ctangney@monm.edu)

Trueblood, Ashley (atrueblood@monm.edu)

Tweed, Ashleigh (atweed@monm.edu)

 

         
Monmouth College Public Relations Program
700 East Broadway, Monmouth Illinois 61462 :: Copyright