On Friday, September 15, 2000, Monmouth College's Gamma Omicron Chapter of Eta Sigma Phi, the National Classics Honorary Society, celebrated the Ludi Romani Pompa Circensis by initiating the following new members in the Capron Classics Room: Kyle Bell and John W. Larson. In order to be eligible for membership students must earn a grade of "B" or better in Latin 101 and 102 course and be enrolled in a Latin course above the 100-level.

Following the initiation ceremony, the following officers were elected for the academic year 2000-2001: Joseph O'Neil MC'01, Prytanis or president of the chapter; Zina Lewis MC'01, Hyparchos or vice-president; Dawn McRoberts MC'03, Hyparchos for the National Convention; John W. Larson MC'02, Chrysophylax or treasurer; and Mary Pickens MC'03, Grammateus or Secretary. Chapter advisor is Tom Sienkewicz.

Click here for photos of the initiation.

This webpage was prepared by Professor Thomas J. Sienkewicz. If you have any questions, you can contact him at toms@monm.edu.

Return to Monmouth College Department of Classics Homepage