## THE ETA SIGMA PHI SUMMER SCHOLARSHIPS FOR 2004

The Trustees of Eta Sigma Phi are pleased to announce the following scholarships. *Nota bene: Separate application for admission to the desired program must be made to AAR, ASCSA, or VS.* 

The Scholarship to the American Academy in Rome will have a value of \$3,425. Programs Department, American Academy in Rome, 7 East 60 St., New York NY 10022-1001. E-mail: <a href="mailto:info@aarome.org">info@aarome.org</a> The deadline for applications is March 1, 2004.

The Brent Malcolm Froberg Scholarship to the American School of Classical Studies at Athens will have a value of \$2,700, which includes the remission of one-half of all fees by the American School. Because of the Summer Olympics in Greece, ASCSA is conducting a summer session in Turkey in 2004. Committee on the Summer Sessions, American School of Classical Studies at Athens, 6-8 Charlton St., Princeton, NJ 08540-5232. E-mail: ascsa@ascsa.org The deadline for applications is January 15, 2004.

At either of the above summer sessions, six semester hours of credit may be earned and applied toward an advanced degree in Classics at most graduate schools, provided that arrangements have been made in advance with the graduate school.

Eligibility: Eligible to apply for the above scholarships are Eta Sigma Phi members and alumni who have received a Bachelor's degree since January 1, 1998, or shall have received it in or before June 2004, and who have not received a doctoral degree.

The Theodore Bedrick Scholarship to the Vergilian Society at Cumae will have a value of \$2,800, which includes the remission of one-half the tuition fee by the Vergilian Society. Tom Hayes, Secretary, The Vergilian Society, 22 Bluetop Rd., E. Setauket, NY 11733. E-mail: <a href="mailto:vergsoc@aol.com">vergsoc@aol.com</a> The deadline for applications is April 1, 2004.

**Eligibility for the Bedrick Scholarship**: In addition to those eligible for the first two scholarships are Eta Sigma Phi members who will be rising juniors or seniors in the summer of 2004, and preference for the scholarship will be given to such undergraduate members.

Selection of recipients is made by the Eta Sigma Phi Scholarship Committee, whose members are Professors Caroline A. Perkins of Marshall University (chair), Francis Dunn of the University of California at Santa Barbara, and T. Davina McClain of Loyola University of New Orleans. In selecting the recipient of each scholarship, the Scholarship Committee will give attention to the quality of the applicant's work in Greek and Latin, intention to teach at the secondary-school or college level, and contribution to the activities of Eta Sigma Phi at the local and national level.

Deadline for completed scholarship applications: February 1, 2004.

The recipients will be announced about March 1, 2004.

Scholarship application information and forms may be requested from:

Professor Caroline A. Perkins, Chair Eta Sigma Phi Scholarship Committee Department of Classical Studies Marshall University Huntington, WV 25701

The application packet may also be requested by e-mail: perkins@marshall.edu