Eta Sigma Phi

 Classical Honorary Society

 76th Annual Convention

March 19-21, 2004

At the Invitation of Eta Gamma

Loyola University

New Orleans, Louisiana

 2003-2004 National Officers

Mega Prytanis                          Charlie McGants

                                                Beta Theta (Hampton-Sydney College)

Megale Hyparchos                             Kelly Duncan

Eta Gamma (Loyola University, New Orleans)

Megas Grammateus                 Aaron Randolph

                                                Beta Pi (University of Arkansas)

Megale Chrysophylax              Rochelle Schnyder

                                                Gamma Omega (Baylor University)

Executive Secretary:

 Thomas J. Sienkewicz             Gamma Omicron (Monmouth College)

 Newsletter Editor:

C. Wayne Tucker                     Hampton Sydney College, Virginia


2003-2004 Board of Trustees

Sister Therese Marie Dougherty, Chair

                                                Beta Kappa (College of Notre Dame of Maryland)

R. Leon Fitts                            Delta Theta (Dickinson College)
Anne H. Groton                       Delta Chi (St. Olaf College)
Thomas J. Sienkewicz             Gamma Omicron (Monmouth College)
R. Alden Smith                        Gamma Omega (Baylor College)

Honorary Trustees:

W.W. de Grummond

Brent M. Froberg



Schedule of Events

Friday, March 19, 2004                              Ponchartrain Hotel

7:30 p.m.                       Registration and Reception

                                      Fountain and Founders Room

8:00 p.m.                       Opening Session

                                      Welcoming remarks by Kelly Duncan,

                                                Prytanis, Eta Gamma Chapter

                                      Response by Megas Prytanis Charlie McGants

                                      Door Prizes

8:30 p.m.                       Certamen

Saturday, March 20, 2004                     Loyola Universit

Shuttle busses from Ponchartrain Hotel to campus of Loyola University will begin running at 7:30 a.m. and continue running until 8:30 a.m. 

The St. Charles streetcar also runs approximately every 15 minutes.  The cost is $1.25.  You will need to get off at the corner of St. Charles and Calhoun Streets.

Chapters will cars or vans can park in the West Road garage with a special permit which Eta Gamma Chapter will provide.  Entrance to the garage is off St. Charles Avenue next to Holy Name Church.

8:00 a.m.                       Registration

                                      Audubon Room, 2nd floor, Danna Center

8:30 a.m.                       First Business Session

                                      Audubon Room, 2nd floor, Danna Center 

                                      Megas Prytanis Charlie McGants, presiding

                                 Minutes of the 75th Annual Convention

                                  Megas Grammateus

                                  Chapter Reports

                                   Reports of Contests

                                    Reports of Scholarships

                                    Report of Megale Chrysophylax Rochelle Schnyder

                                     Report of Megale Hyparchos,  Kelly Duncan

                                     Old Business

                                      New Business
                                                Bids to host 77th Annual Convention

                                      Nominations for 2004-2005 National Officers


10:00 a.m.                     Committee Meetings             Danna Center

          New Chapters                          Octavia I, 2nd floor
          Finances                                  Octavia II, 2nd floor
          Contests and Scholarships      Claiborne I, 1st floor
          Convention Site                       Claiborne II, 1st floor
          Resolutions                             St. Charles Room, 1st floor
          Officers                                    Audubon Room, 2nd floor

11:00 a.m.                     Papers        Audubon Room, Danna Center

          “Odysseus' ErroneousMasterpiece”
                 Steve Malcic, Alpha Mu (University of Missouri)

 “Poetic Personas”: The Speech of Pythagoras in Ovid’s Metamorphoses
      Karen Kelly, Gamma Omega (Baylor University)

        “Sidus in the Aeneid
                  Tasha Genck, Epsilon Xi (Gustavus Adolphus College)

         “Vergil's Illuminated Epic”
                 Kaija Hupila, Epsilon Xi (Gustavus Adolphus College)

12:00 p.m.                     Lunch

                                      St. Charles Room, 1st floor, Danna Center

2:00 p.m.                       Afternoon Activities

           2:00                      “Lysistrata”           Marquette Theater

Directed by Prof. Donald Brady, Drama Department

Adaptation by Prof. Wilfred Major, LSU

                    4:00                      “The Romans Were What They Wore”        

                                                Prof. Wade Heaton, SELU, Hammond, LA

Nunemaker Auditorium

Monroe Hall

Shuttle busses from the Loyola University Horseshoe to Ponchartrain Hotel will begin running at 5:15 p.m. and continue running until 6:15 p.m. 

The St. Charles streetcar also runs approximately every 15 minutes.  The cost is $1.25. 

7:30 p.m.             Banquet               Ponchartrain Hotel

                             Grand Court A & B 

                             Welcoming Remarks

Keynote Presentation, “Watching What You Eat:  The Power and Perils of Dining in the Classical World”

Prof. Karen Rosenbecker, Visiting Assistant Professor

of Classical Studies, Loyola University 

Sunday, March 20, 2004                        Ponchartrain Hotel 

7:30                               Breakfast   

                                      Garden Court II 

8:30 – 12:00 p.m.           Second Business Session

                                      Grand Court A & B 

                                      Megas Prytanis Charlie McGants, presiding

                                      Committee Reports

                                      Report of the Executive Secretary  Thomas J. Sienkewicz

                                      Report of the Chair of the Board of Trustees

                                      Election of the 2005 Convention Site

                                      Election of the 2004-2005 National Officers

                                      Installation of Officers

                                      Closing Remarks




This convention would not have been possible without generous support from the following patrons.

 Magnas gratias agimus:

Loyola University Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Walter Harris, Provost and Vice President AA
College of Arts and Sciences,  Dr. Frank Scully, Jr., Dean
Loyola University Bookstore,  Ms. Carol Knight, Manager
Loyola University Office of Institutional Advancement, Ms. Patricia Moser, Director of Alumni and Parent Relations
Loyola University Office of Student Affairs,  Dr. James Eiseman, Vice President SA
Loyola University Student Government Association 

We owe equal thanks to those who have donated their time, talent and resources to our convention. 

The Department of Classical Studies,  Dr. Connie Rodriguez, Chair
The Department of Drama and Speech,  Prof. Georgia Gresham, Chair
Dr. H. Paul Brown
Louisiana Junior Classical League
Greater New Orleans Convention Bureau